Checkpoint: Chapter 2 re-approved, Chapter 4 and conclusion “keep going”

I raced to finish the draft of Chapter 4 submitted to my advisor before I left on vacation. And on Thursday night, I finally hit “send” at 2am. I still had to pack for our trip, but my chapter was done. And by “done,” I mean that the general organization was fleshed out, most paragraphs had topic sentences and evidence, the main focus on the chapter (the pay-off) was solid, and there was a conclusion of sorts.

My advisor wasn’t joking about quick turn-arounds on my chapters this summer. He got Chapter 2 back to me in 5 days, and Chapter 4 + conclusion back to me in two days. Here’s the verdict:

Chapter 2: approved. He thought the way I reframed the chapter brought the theory elements of the diss to the fore, enough so that my secondary advisor should be satisfied.

Chapter 4: keep going. He had good suggestions about where to push my readings (everywhere), and he could see the shape of the chapter and imagine how the whole might work from the pieces I’ve written so far.

Conclusion: almost there. I need to revise the first few paragraphs substantially, and give the rest another quick revision pass.

I’ll have my work cut out for me when I get home from vacation, but I’m still on schedule for the summer.

Before the vacation I also passed along a full draft of my dissertation (all in one document!) to my editor. I should get her notes back soon after I’m back to work.

Next goal: revised Chapter 4 to advisor July 2. (Bonus goal: full diss draft to advisor July 2.)

Leave a Reply

