Revisions

One of my tasks this week is to revise a chapter I finished in December according to my second advisor’s notes. Good news: he mentioned four typos, and asked for one element of my argument to be signposted earlier. The chapter is already complete; I must credit my advisor who wisely advised me to fill in all the little blanks before I sent the draft to him. I should be able to check this task off my list after a quick read-through tomorrow.

But then I have to get back to the ungainly monster chapter (that I’ve already revised numerous times). I’ve got my writing partner’s notes on my latest introduction, and I’m headed in the right direction. (Writing Partner Knows.) I’m getting closer to done, but I’m not sure I’ve quite got the framing of the chapter right yet.

In other news, I started a grammar class for editors through UC Berkeley Extension. Wow, have I forgotten the details of grammar. Gerunds? Participial phrases? Indefinite pronouns? My favorite part of the class so far is getting to re-read Patricia O’Conner’s Woe is I.

And my kids have started swim team. Today I was at the pool from 4-5, at the soccer field from 5:30-6:30, driving to pick up my husband-of-the-wounded-feet at work after that, and finally home by 7:45. Dinner in the car? Yes. McDonald’s? No. Falafel? Oh, yes.* And my kids still smell like chlorine.

*one of the great joys of my life is that my kids ask to eat both curry and falafel.

 

Leave a Reply

