Writing Between (Week 1)

There’s a break between writing groups, so I thought I’d check in here with some weekly goals. I’m heading into the big push to get Chapter 4 done enough to send to my writing partner, and I definitely need the accountability. Here are my minimum goals:

Week 0: 1100 words done
Week 1: 2500 words
Week 2: 3000 words
Week 3: 2000 words
Week 4: clean up to send

Somewhere in there I’ll need to add another 400 words or so.

At the end of Week 3, I have a weekend writing retreat scheduled. I’m hoping to use it to clean up the Chapter 4 draft, revise the Chapter 2 draft from writing partner comments, and draft some (all?) off the conclusion. I won’t have a printer on my retreat, so I have a hard deadline for the finished draft. (I absolutely must edit on paper.)

Goals for Week 1: write 2500 words (or more–4000 would be fantastic); read/annotate/notes on two articles; annotate two articles I read last week; skim one book for quotes.

Overall writing account

I’m still basically where I was last time I reported–I still need to finish Chapter 4, write the conclusion, and revise Chapter 2 (I’m waiting for writing partner feedback on how substantial the revisions need to be). At this point, I think I can have the complete dissertation draft to my advisor (and hopefully secondary advisor too) by the first week of June. My third committee member is gone for the summer, so it’s likely I’ll defend in September. Maybe I can time it so it’s 10 years to the day since I started my PhD. There is a possibility that my advisor and I will try to replace my third committee member in order to schedule a summer (probably August) defense. Sooner seems better, of course, but it also sounds nice to have time to get the formatting and proofreading right without having to rush.

I’m close. So close.

2 thoughts on “Writing Between (Week 1)

  1. This is all so exciting! And you sound really optimistic and energized, which is wonderful! I will follow you during your “writing between.” I, myself, am not really writing at the moment. I’m doing some reading before I begin the first draft of Chapter 3. Aren’t you glad you’re not doing first drafts?

    • I am glad I’m not doing first drafts, but since these early-to-mid-process revisions start with a blank page, each one sometimes feels like a first draft.

      This warm weather makes a huge difference for me in productivity. And I have my beginning-of-summer deadline because right now I have no childcare set up for the summer. (Which might turn out to be brilliant or stupid.)

      I’ll be cheering you on with your reading and pre-writing. It’s not drafting, but it’s all part of the process.

Leave a Reply

