Chapter 2 Again (+ mini writing retreat)

Bad news from advisor 2. He has no problem with my analysis in Chapter 2, but sees a big jump away from the theory I’m exploring and the frame I’m using for the rest of the diss. Is he right? Oh yes. And Chapter 2 is now officially the Chapter of 1000 Drafts. But this makes it better:

20130220-170407.jpg

It’s ski week (no school for a whole week instead of just a day off for presidents. Sports trump government yet again.) so I have two kids home and only one of them will leave me alone to work for any length of time. So the kids and I headed down to my parents’ place for a couple work days. This photo was from my break-time walk. Beautiful views, and great company.

Today I’m giving Chapter 2 a quick revise before sending it to my writing partner. (It’s the only chapter I’ve submitted without having him read it first, and it’s the only on that’s needed a redo. Not a coincidence.) Tomorrow I’m off to nearby bay city to meet jenk (from the summer iteration of the writing group) for some 90 minute work sessions. I’ll be working on restructuring my intro, moving Chapter 4 to the Chapter 1 slot, and moving conclusion material to the conclusion.

I’m feeling healthier than I gave in months, and I’m ready to tame this beast of a dissertation.

One thought on “Chapter 2 Again (+ mini writing retreat)

  1. That doesn’t sound like terribly bad news, if there’s an obvious problem and an obvious fix. It’s all progress!

    And yay for feeling healthy and powerful. There’s still (always) more work to be done, but it makes a world of difference to feel like you’ve got it in you to get it done.

Leave a Reply

