Writing Group. Want to join?

I need some accountability for my work on my dissertation writing project. I found great value in the ADNotorious Writing Group in the fall, but I missed the deadline to join Dame Eleanor Hull’s spring writing group. I’m open to starting one here.

If you’re interested, post a comment below. Feel free to include a brief description of your project. Once we get a group of some sort, we can start up.

The Details:

The session will go through May 4 (though we could consider adding on a couple of bonus weeks to help us get into summer).

Pick ONE project (if possible) to focus on with this group.

Check in weekly with specific goals, what you’ve accomplished, what worked/what didn’t, etc. Be sure to check in even if you’ve done nothing.

5 thoughts on “Writing Group. Want to join?

  1. I’m working on a dissertation in Renaissance Literature, which I’m supposed to defend next fall.

    Goals for this spring: I need to have working drafts of my 3 literature-based chapters done by mid-April for a trip across the country to see Amazing Advisor. (My university is on the East Coast, and I’m on the West.) When I return from the trip, I’ll need to develop a plan of attack for the summer, including the beginnings of my contexts/methods chapter.

    • That’s very kind of you. I’d love to!

      My big goal is a dissertation body rough draft. Goal for this week: almost full draft of Chapter 3.

      Let me know if I can be of any help in making your job as moderator easier. (I’d be happy to compile the check-in list every other week, for instance.)

  2. Let’s get you added over at my place—post your goal this weekend for the coming week—and I’ll add a comment explaining the situation.

    Compiling the list is actually pretty easy. I saved a list of names that I open each weekend and paste people’s goals in as they post them, since I check comments a few times a day. Then the next week I can just paste that into the post-composition window.

    But I won’t be able to run the group next summer, since I’ll be traveling a lot, so you could take over then.

Leave a Reply

